Upcoming Events

August 18, 2018 @ 8:00 am

Martha Myers Role Model Award

Meet our 2017 Martha Myers Role Model Award Recipients

To read a bio of each recipient, click on their photo. 


W.J. Many, Jr., MD 

Amie B. (Jackson) McLain, MD

Sandra King Parker, MD

On August 19, 2007, at the annual White Coat Ceremony, former Role Model Committee chairman, Neil E. Christopher, M.D. ('58), formally introduced the Martha Myers Role Model Awards. The awards are intended to inspire generations of medical students by highlighting the accomplishments of physician alumni whose lives epitomize the ideal of service to their communities. Photographs and stories of Role Model honorees are displayed on the fourth floor of the Volker Hall Tower.

If you would like to nominate someone to be included in the Role Model Display, please follow the link below for instructions on how to proceed.

Nomination Form

Past Honorees:  

2007 - Martha C. Myers, MD ('71), Norman E. McSwain, Jr., MD, FACS ('63)

2008 - Wayne H. Finley, MD, PhD ('60), Jeffery D. Larson, MD ('83), George C. Smith, Sr., MD ('65)

2009-2010 - Jack Blackwell, MD ('56), Sara Crews Finley, MD ('55), Thomas E. Moody, MD ('73)

2011 - Richard D. deShazo, MD ('71), T. Riley Lumpkin, MD ('58), John "Shaun" M. Packard, Jr., MD ('73)

2012 - Claude D. Brunson, MD ('87), Bruce F. Holding, Jr., MD ('55), Rucker L. Staggers, MD ('57)

2013 - Kenneth R. Harman, MD ('79), Judith A. Jehle, MD ('75)

2014 - Robert M. Hagler, MD ('80), David C. Simpson, MD ('68)

2015 - Daniel M. Avery, Jr., MD ('82), Susan D. McCollum, MD ('73), Henry Spira, MD ('50)

2016 - Daniel C. Potts, MD, FAAN ('97 Resident), Garry W. Magouirk, MD ('80), Michael S. Vaughn, MD, ABPM ('81)


Home | Alumni Directory | About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer

Copyright © 2003-2017 Medical Alumni Association

Website services provided by Net-to-Net, Inc