Upcoming Events

February 22, 2019
Reunion Information can be found at this link.
February 23, 2019
Reunion Information can be found at this link.

Alan M. Siegal, M.D.

2017 Distinguished Service Award

Published Wednesday, January 4, 2017 8:00 am

Alan Siegal spent his early years in Tuscaloosa and attended the University of Alabama, graduating in 1960 with honors.  He then attended the University of Alabama School of Medicine, graduating with honors in 1964.  The next year he served an internship and first year residency at the Beth Israel Hospital in Boston, followed by two years as an Air Force Captain based at the School of Aerospace Medicine at Brooks Air Force Base in San Antonio doing Radiobiology research.  In 1968, following discharge from the Air Force, he returned to Birmingham to complete his Internal Medicine residency and Endocrine fellowship under the mentorship of Dr. Robert A. Kreisberg.  From 1971-73, he served as Associate Dean under Dr. Clifton Meador.  In 1973, Alan was recruited to serve on the initial faculty of the newly formed University of South Alabama College of Medicine where he taught until 1987.  During this time he received numerous “Best Teacher” awards, including the dedication of the yearbook voted by the class of 1986.  He subsequently received the Distinguished Faculty award from the University of South Alabama College of Medicine.

In 1987, he was recruited back to the University of Alabama School of Medicine and developed the first Division of Geriatrics and the Geriatric Fellowship program.  He also received many “Best Teacher” awards from the University of Alabama School of Medicine, including receiving the “Excellence in Clinical Teaching-Lifetime Award” from the Department of Medicine in 1995.  Other awards included the “Alabama Golden Eagle Physicians Award” by the Alabama Senior Citizens Hall of Fame in 1991.

Alan was very active in the American College of Physicians, serving as Governor of the Alabama Chapter from 1991-95.  He was also President of the Alabama Chapter of the American Diabetes Association.  In 1997, he was inducted as a Master of the American College of Physicians. 

From 1995-2015 he was a member of the faculty of the Baptist Health System Internal Medicine and Transitional year faculty. Alan retired in 2015.

Dr. Alan Siegal was nominated by Dr. Pink L. Folmar. 

Home | Alumni Directory | About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer

Copyright © 2003-2017 Medical Alumni Association

Website services provided by Net-to-Net, Inc